MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
MyBB Internal: One or more warnings occurred. Please contact your administrator for assistance.
Nightingale Forums - tarball - but how?

Nightingale Forums

Full Version: tarball - but how?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I use Linux Mint 16

I'm new to it. The ppa configuration didn't work. Well, it installed, and the configuration Window startet, but the program didn't . By the way: i tried it with Ubuntu and got the same result.
I decided that it would be easier with Tarball. Well, I looked up how to install a tarball, but at the moment, when they request ".configure" "make" and "make install" I get stuck, because the nightingale-folder doesn't have any configure-text which obviously is requested.
I can start it by clicking the nightingale program, but then it asks me if I want to run it as Text or as Program, that's disturbing, and I don't think that's the way you intended it to be.

The program itself is awesome, but the user-friendliness for installing could reeeaaally be better, especially for noobs like me.

Greetings!
By the way: While I can get the Tarball to start manually, I can't start the ppa-installed version manually, if I start it with the Terminal, I get the messages in the picture and after 1-2 seconds the window closes.

By the way: The installation itself is clean, nightingale is the first thing, after the updates, I installed
If you download the compiled tarball from the downloads page, you do not need to install anything.
In order for it to work properly, you will need the gstreamer-0.10 packages installed tough.