Nightingale Forums

Full Version: Tech Writer looking to pitch in
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi there.

I'm posting here to offer my services to help with any documentation work for this project. I'm a Content Author for Red Hat and an ex-Songbird user.

Songbird was a revelation to me and it quickly became my media player of choice. I was a little heartbroken when Linux support was pulled. Which is why I desperately want to see this project succeed, and hence why I'm volunteering my services.

I was hoping someone could fill me in on how documentation is (will be?) handled for Nightingale and, if I can be of use, how I might get started.

Cheers from Down Under.

Right now, we just have a wiki and a bunch of guys that hang out on the forums and IRC...haha...

If you have any requests in terms of some sort of documentation managment system or something, please speak, as a lot of us are just coders and designers and don't know the first thing about writing human readable docs...
(03-09-2012, 03:46 PM)ilikenwf Wrote: [ -> ]Right now, we just have a wiki

If you have any requests in terms of some sort of documentation managment system or something, please speak

Hey ilikenwf
Thanks for the quick reply.

I don't really have any requests, I'm happy to work with whatever systems are already in place. If there isn't any definite workflows set up yet, I can produce chunked html, single-page html and PDF versions of any docs that you guys might want.

To get started, how about I convert some of the content from the wiki to one of the formats above, and host it somewhere, then you guys can check it out and see if it works for you?
Before you do, I'd like to hear from GeekShadow and rsjtdrjgfuzkfg about this, they usually have good input.
I'm glad we have you here, as we don't have writers for documentation yet. Smile