Nightingale Forums

Full Version: c++ dev here
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hello,

Very glad to be here...

Just wanted to offer my services here at Nightingale. I'm a professional c++ developer working in high performance server-side applications on a linux platform. I use the stl, the posix api, pthreads and c++11 (c++0x) on a daily basis. I'm more than comfortable in c and using make, as well as various versions of g++.

I also use python on a daily basis as well, although admittedly at quite a high level.

My interest in Nightingale is primarily because I was disappointed in the lack of support for linux in Songbird and for a good extendable media player for linux in general. I'm looking for a good project to dedicate my time to.

Let me know if you have any suggestions on how I can help. Or where I can begin...
We want you! This can go two ways:

You can just fork the code and do whatever you want with it and put in pull requests as you'd like...we have an issues tracker on github...

Or

You can hop in the IRC and forums and we can suggest things, help get you accustomed to the codebase, etc...there's plenty to be done!
Great! I'll see if I can't hop on irc tonight (EST) and talk to some people.

So I've read the "Git Repo Descriptions/Explanations" post, but I'm still not completely sure which branch I should be looking at. Where should general non-urgent fixes go? master? nightingale-1.11?

I'm able to build and run nightingale-1.11, but ran into a few compilation issues in master.
Thanks for your interest. As ilikenwf pointed out you're more than welcome here. Smile

(03-08-2012, 09:57 PM)dedalus Wrote: [ -> ]Great! I'll see if I can't hop on irc tonight (EST) and talk to some people.