Nightingale Forums

Full Version: [SOLVED] "What application would you like to use?"
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Fedora 23
Nightingale 1.21.1-2454 x86 64

GStreamer plugins are installed
MP3s play on Amarok

When I launch Nightingale (via Dolphin) it loads up fine, but will not import media.  When open an audio file, I get a prompt asking me which application I'd like to use.

Umm.... Nightingale?    Big Grin

I've already deleted and reinstalled twice, with no effect.  I tried the 32-bit version once, that didn't help either.  I've been using NG since before the fork, and I'd really like to get it working again.

I'm lost on this one.

Any suggestions?
(01-19-2016, 04:26 PM)BlazeMiskulin Wrote: [ -> ]When I launch Nightingale (via Dolphin) it loads up fine, but will not import media.

Can you clarify what you mean with "will not import media"? Which option do you use for importing: watch folders, manually importing through the file menu or drag-and-drop?

If you have not yet tried importing through the file menu: does that work?

(01-19-2016, 04:26 PM)BlazeMiskulin Wrote: [ -> ]When open an audio file, I get a prompt asking me which application I'd like to use.

The behavior when opening files is OS-dependent. I never used Nightingale to open audio files (as I rely on the library), but you might be able to convince the dialog to use nightingale somehow -- usually there is a "custom" or "other application" option somewhere, if Nightingale is not listed.
(01-20-2016, 01:58 AM)rsjtdrjgfuzkfg Wrote: [ -> ]
(01-19-2016, 04:26 PM)BlazeMiskulin Wrote: [ -> ]When I launch Nightingale (via Dolphin) it loads up fine, but will not import media.

Can you clarify what you mean with "will not import media"? Which option do you use for importing: watch folders, manually importing through the file menu or drag-and-drop?

Using the "import media" feature--both on setup and from the file menu.  Also trying to "watch folder".  


(01-20-2016, 01:58 AM)rsjtdrjgfuzkfg Wrote: [ -> ]
(01-19-2016, 04:26 PM)BlazeMiskulin Wrote: [ -> ]When open an audio file, I get a prompt asking me which application I'd like to use.

The behavior when opening files is OS-dependent. I never used Nightingale to open audio files (as I rely on the library), but you might be able to convince the dialog to use nightingale somehow -- usually there is a "custom" or "other application" option somewhere, if Nightingale is not listed.

I tried that.  It doesn't work, either.

I'm *really* confused by this, as Nightingale has never given me any big problems in the past.
(01-20-2016, 10:47 AM)BlazeMiskulin Wrote: [ -> ]Using the "import media" feature--both on setup and from the file menu.  Also trying to "watch folder".  

Does it display some sort of error message or does it just nothing at all? When looking at the error console (Tools|Error console...), do you see messages there?

(01-19-2016, 04:26 PM)BlazeMiskulin Wrote: [ -> ]When open an audio file, I get a prompt asking me which application I'd like to use.
I did not understand what you mean last time, the image clarified that. This dialog is not from the OS, it comes from Nightingale. Which indeed is weird...

Just to ensure it is not some old profile that is causing issues: can you try with a new profile (starting Nightingale with the "-p" parameter will bring up the profile manager, in which you can create a new profile and/or select which profile should be used for starting)?
Does Nightingale do MIME sniffing when importing? Because if it does that would point to a corrupted file.
(01-22-2016, 05:36 AM)rsjtdrjgfuzkfg Wrote: [ -> ]I did not understand what you mean last time, the image clarified that. This dialog is not from the OS, it comes from Nightingale. Which indeed is weird...

Just to ensure it is not some old profile that is causing issues: can you try with a new profile (starting Nightingale with the "-p" parameter will bring up the profile manager, in which you can create a new profile and/or select which profile should be used for starting)?

BINGO!

Corrupted profile.

When I had reinstalled before, I didn't know there was a hidden folder with the profiles in it, so it never got deleted.  I just nuked everything (application files and profiles) and did a clean install.   It works perfectly now.

Thank you!